Transferring an existing domain name entails changing the registrar that provides the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you’ll have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS modifications through the new company. The transfer process itself is standard with most top-level domain name extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and entail different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain entails several basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The domain lock is a security feature, which is being adopted by more and more domain name registry organizations. It’s a default feature supported by all gTLDs. If a domain is locked, it will be impossible to initiate a transfer procedure, so no one can even try to take your domain name. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domain names that support this functionality are locked by default when they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Web Hosting

If you order a Linux shared web hosting package from our company, you will be able to administer all domains registered through us via our Hepsia Control Panel and you will be able to unlock any of them with only several mouse clicks. All registrations will be displayed in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you will see a small padlock icon. Clicking on it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain name is locked and you wish to transfer it away, you will just have to click for the second time and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are managed in the exact same location as the hosting account itself, you won’t have to sign in and out of different interfaces.

Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Hosting

If you’ve registered a domain name through us and you wish to transfer it, you can quickly unlock it via the same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to administer your semi-dedicated server account. All registrations will be listed alphabetically in your account and you will notice a small padlock icon on the right side of each domain there, on the condition that its extension supports the registrar lock option. You can see if the domain is locked or not by clicking on this icon and alter the present status by clicking on it once more. You can then go ahead and start the transfer straight away without needing to wait for the status to be changed on WHOIS lookup sites, as the change will take effect instantaneously without you or us having to do anything else.